Evaluation for package

I have chosen rap and grime as my topic of interest due to there being a huge rise in grime music within recent years – this can be seen from the charts to inspiring the fashion industry. I believe it aims to the target audience of BBC Scotland as it has become very prominent within the music scene in the UK, particularly in Scotland, which has generated grime into what it is today – introducing it into the Scottish culture.

I want to show the audience what grime is and the differences in comparison to rap music. I done this by giving examples and information of other music genres as well as those that are very similar.  I wanted to follow a story arc which includes the history of these two genres of music, how they are created as well as what what the future holds for them. While doing the documentary I encountered some issues by talking more about hip hop and rap culture than grime itself. To resolve this I got in contact with many more grime artists for more material to work with and expand on my documentary. If I were to do this again in future, I would make sure to contact five times the amount of people I originally need as I am now aware that not all will get back in contact. I carried out initial research to see if this documentary was of interest to a general audience. I done this by talking to people I knew and asking them questions regarding these two genres of music. I spoke especially to people that knew hip hop and rap music and the result was that everyone was able to tell me that these genres where both different, however were not able to explain it, so I decided to create my project and package on something that would do that once and for all.

At the end of the package I believe I accomplished what I aimed to do, by discussing Grime the most and comparing it to hip hop so that there was a constant back and forth observation between the two. I also feel that I was successful in showing what was grime is at the same time, making the audience understand and appreciate hip hop almost subconsciously.

With my Interviews I have had various problems that I would change if I had the opportunity to do so. The location where the interviews were held would be what I would alter and find an alternative to, due to my first interviews taking place at a music work shop that was not great in terms of noise level because there were constantly doors closing and voices in the background. I would recommend in future, to ensure the location of the interviews are private and a quiet area depending on the interview.

However I do believe this has also been very helpful as it has tested my skills on editing audio and I believe a done a good job in regards to editing; by changing the EQ, cutting and rearranging the audio around without changing the message of what was being said. I also do believe it would have been better to get as many interviews as possible so that there was more choice of audio to choose from. For example, the person in the second Interview I took, (Gavin) gave fantastic information but was very repetitive in answers which made it a challenge to create content from that.

In addition to this, I believe that my research for the right people to interview was correct because I know who they are, what they do as an occupation and what they are involved in in terms of hobbies and socially. This then allowed me to know the right questions to ask as well as some not quite so relevant to the subject, to see if I was able to get extra material. Doing so, did help me because I was able to get some good content from the first interview that was not expected and was included within my final package. My interviewers where all Scottish based artist so that the audience can connect to them. If possible I would have preferred to get more well-known or famous people to speak with, simply because you can get more information on them which will help to form questions for the interview. I did encounter that problem with my last interview because he was an up-coming artist and there was not much information on him, however he was able to explain to me the grime scene in Scotland, how it is growing and where this type of music originates from. Also if I was able to get famous people involved, it would have got the audience more interested in listening to the documentary.

For health and safety, my first two interviews were held in a music workshop which I visited 3 times prior and completed a health and safety risk assessment forum which outlines any problems that could arise during the interview. I checked the equipment for any problems and also made sure there were not any liquids lying around that could cause any electrical fault to the equipment I was using, myself or the interviewee. However, this was not the case for the second interview as it was at the person’s home and I was unable to go beforehand to make any checks or to confirm it was clear for any electrical danger or any other possible form of hazard. If I was to do this again, I would consider requesting the person if I could check their home to make sure that it is safe and if not request to perform the interview in an alternative location.

I chose a female to present the documentary due to all the interviewees being male, the sound of a female voice not only stands out but also helps to appeal to a different gender of audience which BBC radio Scotland is trying to aim more to. The presenter also speaks in very clear voice with a slight touch of a Scottish accent, which is perfect for the target audience as they can connect as well as easily understand. However, an issue occurred when recording the presenter that I would make sure in future to not happen again. I managed to record her but had missed a part on the script, we later had to organise to record the following day. It would have been frustrating for the presenter and in a real life situation I believe this small error would have cost a lot.

to people that like this music but to a wider audience that has diffrent tast in music but that has intrest in knowing more about thier colture so that the listner can simathise with the presenter because they are very a like meaning that they don’t know the music that well so they are just intrested in knowing more about it beacuse it’s part of their colture just like the presenter

I have also learned that you can not always stick to your original plan as problems may arise along the way. I had originally chosen a song to use in the background of the documentary, however it did not suit the subject and atmosphere I hoped to create. I successfully changed this and came to a conclusion to use a hip hop beat whenever an interviewee spoke about it and similarly use a grime beat whenever grime was discussed, so that subconsciously the audience can realise the difference between these genres. This also adds more life the documentary and keeps the audience engaged but not to the extent to distract from what is being spoken.

Furthermore, the preparation for the whole package was not great because I did not set myself deadlines, if I had done so I felt my time would have been managed much better and effectively. On one hand, I tried to do things as soon as possible so that the documentary was ready in time before the deadline date set out to myself and my classmates. This then allowed me more time to edit and think about any changes I wanted to make to the final package. In my opinion, I feel that the whole package meets my brief and I have fulfilled all the requirements that have been asked of me. I am content that I have been able follow and accomplish my main idea and plan which I had pitched to everyone.

Leave a Reply

